It All Begins Again & Orange Cranberry Biscotti

Once upon a time, I became partner in a small and hip little cafe on a touristy little island in the Aegean. I cooked my butt off  and helped make many people happy when they ate at Orpheas Cafe and Winebar .

Orfeas 014

Years later, in a different part of that same sunny country, I designed, and operated a much larger cafe/bistro in a new marina. Office space was converted into Skipper’s Cafe.  It had gorgeous views and looked out over the Messinian Bay. Unfortunately I had really crappy business partners that were also members of my former husband’s family and I got out of that mess as soon as the place became established.

Having the need to finally run the game on my own terms without constantly justifying myself to misunderstanding partners, I set up another shop. I sold homemade meals-to-go, soups, salads, and sweets, mainly to busy professionals who had no time, or desire, to cook nutritious meals for themselves. They were tired of only having fast food options when they wanted to just pick up a meal and eat at home. So my new establishment didn’t have a lot of seating available because I made Slow Food To-Go.

006

It was an unusual concept, but it worked. I made a fresh soup, and two specials every day. One with meat, one vegetarian. Also available were various salads, and sweets, and everything was written daily on chalkboards. The menu always changed. What I cooked depended on what was in season, what I liked at the Market, or some new inspiration that I wanted to try. I was building up a great clientele who walked into my shop, took a deep breath of home cooked aromas,  and said, “Anke, what’s for dinner?”(in Greek of course).

001

Then the Greek financial crisis hit big time. Within a month, my trusting clientele who came a few times a week, dwindled down to a few times a month as fear spread throughout the country and everyone’s financial situations became more and more fragile. It was sad and tragic and to be honest, when I arrived back  in the States after over 24 years in Greece, I believed I would never cook again professionally. When people asked me what I did, I replied that I was a retired chef.

Making mosaics helped heal the wound and I entertained ideas of supporting myself as a mosaic artist, but Rochester isn’t really the ideal place for this art form. I also found a great part time job.
But retired? Really?
Something started to nag my conscious every time I heard someone complain that they just didn’t have time to cook…

It turns out that that funky little kitchen in the sun was the forerunner to what I am starting now, in an entirely different part of the world, in a hip and foodie city called Rochester; Anke’s Kitchen Personal Chef Service! I will once again cook for busy professionals, who have no time or desire to cook nutritious meals – all in the safety of their own kitchens. I can custom tweak all menus right down to every clients’ tastes and needs – something I couldn’t do in the shop. Their kitchen will be my kitchen.

I have made new friends here who agree that I need to get back to feeding people and making them happy, so they are having me cater a very important event of theirs. They just moved into a gorgeous Victorian house in the city, and their new home needs a roaring Housewarming Party. Their practically adult children are also gathering from far and wide for the holidays, so it is an absolutely ideal time to celebrate and be festive. We have all come so far!

This will be the menu for approximately 50 people:

Carrot Cumin Soup*
Pumpkin/Feta/Mint Pastry

3 kinds of Cocktail Sandwiches:
Austrian Style Roasted Pork Belly and Horseradish Sauce
Sauteed Mixed Mushrooms and Herbs with Goat Cheese
Mediterranean Vegetable and Meatball with Mozzarella

4 kinds of Salads:
Fennel/Orange/Caper Salad
Coleslaw with Apples and Dried Fruit
Mom’s Russian Chicken Salad
Mixed Fresh Greens

5 kinds of Sweets:
Orange Cranberry Macadamia Biscotti*
Salted Triple Chocolate Pistachio Cookies*
Greek Melomakarona
Chocolate Fudge Cake
Holiday Nutcracker Cake

* recipes can be found here on the blog

Today I started to shop and cook for this event. I will begin with the Biscotti. They contain no fat, other than what is in the eggs, and they are perfect for dipping into wine, coffee, tea, or hot chocolate… even when you claim you can’t eat another bite.

Orange Cranberry Macadamia Biscotti

IMG_2639

Makes approximately 2 dozen medium sized Biscotti.

135gr (2/3 cup) sugar
2 large eggs
1 tablespoon orange zest
1 teaspoon almond extract (optional)
1 teaspoon orange extract
2 tablespoons orange juice
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
245 gr (1 3/4 cups) flour
1/2 cup macadamia nuts
1/2 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 350F (170C)

Prepare baking sheets by lining them with parchment paper and set aside.

In the bowl of your electric mixer (or with a hand mixer), beat the sugar and the eggs on high speed until thick, pale, and fluffy. Add the orange and almond extracts, plus the orange zest. Beat until well combined.
In another bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Add flour mixture to egg mixture and combine well. Fold in the whole nuts and cranberries.

IMG_2626

Dampen your hands with water (so the dough won’t stick to them), and form either one large log, or smaller logs (I find it easier to work with smaller sized because the dough is not very firm and quite sticky) and place them on the baking sheet.

Bake for 25 minutes or until firm to the touch and starting to turn golden brown. Remove from oven and let cool on a wire rack for at least 10 minutes.

IMG_2629

Reduce oven temperature to 325F (165C).
Transfer the logs to a cutting board and cut diagonal slices about 1/2″  (1cm) thick. Place the biscotti, cut side down, on the baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes, turn the slices over, then bake for another ten minutes or until golden brown. Remove from oven and let them cool completely. Store in an airtight container.
(These make wonderful gifts!)

IMG_2632

13 comments on “It All Begins Again & Orange Cranberry Biscotti

  1. Katherine Glasson Prati says:

    Anke, you are amazing! Truly amazing. What a great blog piece. You should write your memoir! I think it’s fascinating. Thank you for sharing.

    • Anke says:

      Thank YOU, Katherine, for such a wonderful compliment! I’m so pleased you are enjoying what I write. It means a lot to me.
      Wishing you a wonderful holiday season… with lots deliciousness! 😉

  2. frances burtonshaw says:

    Mwah. Great posting. Xxx all the best. May success keep your hands eternally busy, your mind fully engaged and your wonderful heart full of hope and love. Oh and bollocks , I should also add seasons greetings to you both xxxxxxxx

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Lucy says:

    Great news Anke :0 and a great post. I wish you all the best, much happiness and success with your new venture.

  4. how incredibly exciting for you!! here is to new beginnings!

    are you in Rochester NY or Rochester MN?

    • Anke says:

      Yes, I am continually amazed by the process of life’s journey. Here’s to new beginnings for all of us!

      May the holidays bring you warmth, joy, deliciousness and lots of twinkling lights (I’m a fairy light fanatic)!

      I’m in Rochester, NY.

      • my husband is from Rochester, NY and we visit at least once a year. if you should open a shop, would love to visit when we’re there again.
        i only like to visit when the weather is warm though! 🙂

      • Anke says:

        I don’t know if I’ll be opening a shop any time soon… but I shall keep you informed. It would be fun to meet you!
        But yeah, it does tend to get a bit nippy up here… haha!

  5. Connor Jane O'Brien Mayer says:

    Anke is in Rochester New York! And we are so glad to have her! David and I are so excited, and after I spoke with Anke last evening, I told him — this is the first time I have ever thrown a party and have had nothing to worry about during the week before! Thank you Anke, and all the best!
    Connor Jane

    • Anke says:

      Thank you Connor Jane and David for this wonderful opportunity! I can’t think of a better way to to to get a new venture off the ground than in such a festive environment. 🙂

  6. Pami Taylor says:

    I wish I were closer to the Rochester area … then, I’d be able to enjoy Anke’s cooking again like I did when I worked across the street from Orpheas on Mykonos … hehehehe

Leave a comment